Thank You, UM-Dearborn

By CHRIS ZADOROZNY, Sports Editor

How does one say goodbye to something that has been so near and dear to their heart? It’s not easy. I’ve had to say goodbye to people and things that have been near and dear to my heart more than a few times in my 22 years on earth.

I guess the only way to say goodbye is to recap my time here, my experiences, in hopes that maybe, you will see how important it is to get involved with something on campus.

I came to the University of Michigan-Dearborn in 2009, not too sure of what I wanted to do with my life. I thought that I’d stay for two years and transfer to the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. Yea, I was wrong.

Chris Zadorozny

Chris Zadorozny

In high school, I wasn’t a talkative person, or outgoing. I wasn’t comfortable speaking in public or in class, but I found myself broadcasting my favorite sport, hockey, live for WUMD College Radio in my first year here.

After a year of broadcasting, I wanted to get into writing for the school newspaper, The Michigan Journal. I started in late September of 2010 and wrote my first ever article on the Bowl Championship Series.

That turned into three-years of writing about Michigan Football. I couldn’t have ever imagined my life going the way it did since coming to campus in 2009. I’ve been to the Big House in Ann Arbor, Purdue, Notre Dame, Ohio State, and even New Orleans for the Sugar Bowl.

I’ve also wrote about the city I love, Detroit in two separate columns, connecting with many different people in the Metro Detroit area, possibly giving me an edge for jobs after graduation.

Some thanks are in order after four and a half years here on campus. First and foremost, my mom and dad. It’s been a crazy four and a half years trying to figure out how to succeed in college, and hardly ever seeing them, but they have been behind me no matter what I’ve done. Helping pay for my education too, I’ll never be able to thank them enough.

Second, my friends on this campus. There are just too many to name, but to Alex Mich, Mike Brennan, Ricky Lindsay, Sasha Reeves and a few from high school, Ryan Koscielny and Brittany Simms. They know me almost better than anyone and I will always cherish their friendship moving forward.

Third, a couple of professors. Our advisor, Tim Kiska, and Professor Jim Schaefer. Both have an extensive journalism background and have supported me and advised me in situations that have been very tricky this past year. If you need a journalism class, these two professors are two of the best.

Fourth, I want to thank my girlfriend, Samantha Elliott, the former Editor-in-Chief. I met her when I came to the door wanting to write. She didn’t like my attitude, and I didn’t like that I couldn’t write about campus hockey, but we didn’t let that get in the way of anything. We have had many ups and downs throughout our two and a half year relationship, but I couldn’t have done any of this without her.

Fifth, I have to thank my family. To my grandmas who have always asked about my articles, that support isn’t given to everyone. I can always go to them for advice, to talk, or to just visit for a bit. To my sister, although we don’t may not see each other, we know we have each other when we need help. Oh, and I cannot forget Alan Osinski, my second cousin. A lover of sports and my articles, he always asks me about the paper and when it’s coming out. I know for certain, he is going to miss the paper as much as I will.

Sixth, I want to thank all of you, the readers. I have received praise for articles and I’ve also been threatened for others. No matter the outcome of each article, it tells me that people are reading and that they care, and because of that, I couldn’t be more thankful.

Finally, I have to thank my Grandpa Fred. He may not have been on this earth since 2002, but he has stuck with me, in my mind and in my heart since that fateful day in December, 11 years ago. He was an aspiring journalist in high school, but didn’t pursue it. I guess you can say I’m living out his dream. As I graduate, I know he is the first person I will think of when I receive my diploma.

I’ll certainly miss the experiences I’ve made at UM-Dearborn. I’ll miss the daily grind of being an editor and seeing all of my friends, and I’ll even miss some of the classes. As I move on to the real world, I hope that you read this thinking you should join an organization on campus, and get involved. Thank you UM-Dearborn, you’ve given me a college experience I’ll never forget.

Leave a Reply

